with Ingenuity and Integrity
for Over 30 Years
There are many different reasons that an Ohio motorist may find his or her driver’s license suspended, with driving under the influence (DUI) or operative a vehicle while intoxicated (OVI) being among the most common. Regardless of the cause, there are many good reasons why you should refrain from driving while you have a suspended license. At the Law Office of A. Dale Naticchia, our Cleveland DUI attorneys have helped individuals in communities including Akron and other areas of Cuyahoga County to navigate Ohio laws regarding license suspensions following drunk driving charges or other matters. We know how important it is for you to continue driving during this ordeal, especially if you rely on a vehicle to get to and from work or to handle childcare responsibilities. Our team of compassionate legal professionals will listen to your situation and determine the best course of legal action to protect your rights and to resolve the matter as efficiently as possible.Ohio Laws Regarding Driving While You Have a Suspended License
Ohio law treats driving with a suspended license as a serious offense. The state considers driving a privilege, not a right, and often imposes suspensions following certain criminal offenses like DUI or OVI. If you are charged with an OVI, your license will be suspended for at least 15 days, at which time you can file a petition to obtain limited driving privileges. This petition allows you to drive for the purpose of going to work, school, court ordered treatment programs, and similar obligations. It is advisable to seek counsel from an attorney who understands how to go about filing this petition so that you can obtain limited driving privileges as soon as possible.
There are hundreds of motorists who are charged with driving on a suspended license in Ohio. According to Ohio law, driving with a suspended license applies to anyone who is operating a motor vehicle on a road, highway, or private property used for public travel during a license suspension.Penalties for Driving While You Have a Suspended License
If you are caught driving on a suspended license, you can face a first-degree misdemeanor that carries up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. Additionally, the length of your license suspension will be increased as much as one year. When it comes time to reinstate your license, you will be required to pay a fee to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles. If this is your first offense, the court may require that your vehicle is immobilized and your license plates impounded for 30-days. The period of immobilization and impound doubles if you are facing your second driving with a suspended license offense.
If your license was suspended due to a failure to appear in court or a failure to pay a fine, you may also be facing a misdemeanor that requires paying additional fines of up to $1,000. You will also be required to complete as many as 500 hours of community service.
If you were previously convicted of driving on a suspended license within the past three years and you are convicted of a second offense, you face a first-degree misdemeanor that carries up to six months in jail and $1,000 in fines. Ohio law allows law enforcement to possess your vehicle in the event that you are convicted of driving with a suspended license for the third time.Meet With a Diligent DUI / OVI Attorney in Cleveland
Although these penalties are strict, there are some defenses that can mitigate or resolve a charge of driving on a suspended license. At The Law Firm of A. Dale Naticchia, our Cleveland lawyers have counseled individuals throughout Ohio including Parma, Berea, Rocky River, Garfield Heights, Bedford, Stow, and Barberton. Whether you recently found out that your license was suspended or you were stopped and informed that you were driving on a suspended license, we are here to help. We will work diligently to review your file and to assert any defenses that might be available to you while seeking to resolve your case as efficiently as possible. To schedule a free consultation, call us at 216-520-5297 or contact us online get started.